Review: Beyond the Spiderwick Chronicles

Title: The Nixie’s Song

Authors: Tony Diterlizzi and Holly Black

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Number of Pages: There were 162 pages in this book.

The Nixie’s Song is the first book in a series of fantasy novels. It is about a boy named Nick with an annoying stepsister named Laurie. They find a kind of fairy called a nixie who’s name is Taloa. They soon learn that her five sisters are not to be found and are burdened with the task of finding them. Then they find out that a giant burned the land that Taloa’s sisters were living in which caused them to flee. Then they find a way to stop it and succeed in killing it. In this book find three of Taloa’s sisters but they were burned to death by the giant. Their only hope of finding Taloa’s other two sisters is to venture from the world they once knew so well and learn how to hunt giants.  After hundreds of years, the giants are awakening. I really liked this book because it is full of adventure and I really like fantasy. I am really excited about starting the next book in the series.

Posted by: Fred Reads

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Review: Beyond the Spiderwick Chronicles

  1. Fred,

    Thanks for your review! You mentioned that you like books with adventure and fantasy. What is it that draws you as a reader toward those genres?

    • Fred Reads

      I guess it’s because of the origininal Spiderwick Cronicals wich might suprise you because I LOVED the Harry Potter series. But the thing is, I started to read the H.P.s AFTER the Spiderwicks. Those were probably the first books that I read with action and adventure.

  2. One more thing Fred, can you recommend this book to people of a particular age group? Why is the book best for that group?

  3. Fred Reads

    For boys I would recomend it to 8-11 year-olds. For girls I would recomend it to ages 8 and up. Boys older than 11 years might think that it is too girly because there are fairies in it. Girls really never get tired with that stuff. I would not recomend it to children ages 7 and under because there are some tough vocabulary words and a few bad words in it. Otherwise, I think it’s a really good book for kids like me to read.

    • Why do boys tend to like different books than girls? Is it okay for a boy to like a “girl book” or a girl to like a “boy book”? For instance, if a girl happened to really enjoy a boy book or a boy really enjoyed a girl book would it change the way you thought about that person?

      • Fred Reads

        That depends on a lot of things for me. If it was something that was filled with princesses and glitter and the reader didn’t admit it that would definitely change the way I thought about a boy. One of my best friends is a girl and she likes super heroes and Power Rangers and she admits it. I guess it would mostly depend on whether he or she admitted it or not. I don’t like it when people lie to me.

  4. Fred Reads

    It would not be essential, but it would be helpful with reading the Beyonds. If you would like, I could mail you the books if you can’t find them at the library. The series is made of five short books. Altogether they are about the lengh of #5 of the H.P.s. I think that you should read them.

Leave a Reply

