Review: Japan – the Culture

Title: Japan– the Culture

Author:  Bobbie Kalman

Publisher:  Crabtree

In my opinion, Japan– the Culture was not a good book. It was a boring research book that did not hold my attention for more than a couple of minutes. The only good parts were about the children’s festivals and the Japanese tables. If you are a professor I would not even recommend this to you. Bobbie Kalman did not write about one of the most important things in Japanese culture. Not even a word. Cooking. Nor did he write about the Japanese Ninjas. Children love reading about ninjas and this book was written for children. Unless you are a book critic looking for something to be mad about do not read this book. It’s not worth it. Try something like a Japanese cookbook or a history of martial arts book.

Posted by: Fred Reads

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Review: Japan – the Culture

  1. I’m glad that you chose to review a nonfiction book. Was there anything in the book that you did like or that you found to be interesting? If the book was not intended for children would you feel differently about it?

    • Fred Reads

      I found the tea ceremony pretty interesting. I also learned that the Japanese use coffee tables instead of regular ones and that they sit on soft mats instead of chairs. They also have thin rice mats that cover the dining room floor. And if the book was not made for children I would think even worse of it because half of it is pictures and, like I said in the reveiw, the book said nothing about food. Grownups would probably be more interested in Japanese food than kids.

      P.S. Who is Fall Asleep Fast?

  2. Fall Asleep Fast is another user of wordpress blogs. They searched all the blogs on wordpress for something about literature and saw our blog. They seemed to enjoy it and wanted to let us know. If you want, I can make our blog a “secret” blog so that only you and I can see it. But then, people who you might want to have the ability to read the blog, like maybe Aunt Heidi or grandparents, or friends won’t have the ability to do so.

    Your call.

  3. Fred Reads

    I think we should leave it the way it is.

  4. Just to give your mother piece of mind, anyone who comments on our blog who isn’t me or you I have to “approve” the comment. I “approved” Fall Asleep Fast’s because I thought it was nice that someone stumbled upon us and thought our blog was cool. 🙂

  5. Thank you for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do a little research on this. We got a grab a book from our area library but I think I learned more clear from this post. I’m very glad to see such magnificent information being shared freely out there.

Leave a Reply

