Review: The Spiderwick Chronicles – Books 2 & 3

Titles: The Spiderwick Chronicles, Books : The Seeing Stone  & Book 3: Lucinda’s Secret

Authors: Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Copyright: 2003

The adventure continues in The Spiderwick Chronicles: The Seeing Stone and Lucinda’s Secret. In the continuation of the series, our hero Jared and his sibling companions adventure out of the house and onto the grounds of the Spiderwick Estate. There they meet a variety of new and interesting creatures, some of which are written about in the guide, and others which are completely mysterious.  My favorite of these new creatures is the Phooka- a rhyme and riddle speaking tree climber, who is more creep than cute.

The books continue to showcase a magical world which is hidden in our own. Accented with beautiful sketch work (the vignette of Aunt Lucy is not an image that will soon escape my memory), these books are imaginative and full of spunk. The second and third books  in this series begin to develop a sense of comedy and tragedy. I found myself emotionally relating to the characters, who are learning lessons along their journey. They are forced to put their intellect, their courage, their loyalty and love to the test. Jared begins to learn the hard lesson that things are not always as they seem, something I think all people can relate to, regardless of age. Jared notes that “[magic] seemed so great, but underneath it was just as disappointing as everything else” (The Spiderwick Chrionicles: Lucinda’s Secret, 56).  This sudden turn toward the serious has left me wondering, are Jared, Simon and Mallory in too deep?

I venture to find out as I begin the fourth in the series, The Spiderwick Chronicles: The Ironwood Tree.

Posted By: Janine Reads

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Review: The Spiderwick Chronicles – Books 2 & 3

  1. Fred Reads

    This was one of the best reviews I have seen on this blog. I think you really captured the feel of the book. This was the first and one of the best series I ever read, and even though it was five years ago I still remember the plot of each of the books. My favorite sentence is “Phooka- a rhyme and riddle speaking tree climber, who is more creep than cute”. I think that “The Iornwood Tree” is a great book, which is also a shame, because they left that entire book out in the movie.

  2. Thanks Fred! I am excited to read the “The Iornwood Tree”, though I am on a breif hiatus from Spiderwick while reading another book thats been in my stack for a while, which I will probably review soon. I am trying to decide if I will see the movie or not, I like the books very much so, and I am not sure that I need a movie to ruin what my imagination has already come up with.

Leave a Reply

