Review: The Enchantress

Title:  The Enchantress

Author:  Michael Scott

Series:  The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel

Publisher:  Delacorte Press, a division of Random House Children’s Books

FINALLY! I finally get to read and finish the last book in the series. It has been so long that I hardly remember anything from the previous books. Well, here we are again, and first of all, I would like you to know that

THIS BOOK IS TOTALLY AWESOME-ISH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ah, well it really was awesome, but much darker than the others. Almost half the characters die. But fortunately, in a much less gory way than Billy the Kid (he is not a kid (don’t ask)) gets injured. I’m sorry; I’m just so giddy that I finally read this book that I’ve been trying to get a hold of for almost a year now. I don’t want to spoil it for you if you’re going to read it, but I will tell you that Isis and Osrisis are not Sophie and Josh’s parents and that they are completely evil. Not the kind of evil that makes you livid with anger in hopes that they die a very unpleasant death, but the kind that disturbs you in a way that makes your eyes bug and want to edge the book away from you. But I am not telling you what they are.

I think that the author could have added less grim details in parts of the book, but I also think the epilogue makes up for it. The book is five hundred and nine pages long, but it is easier to read than it sounds. At least for me; I am a mutant book-reading freak. I would recommend this book to anyone thirteen and over. I AM NOT KIDDING. Seriously, if you’re reading this and you’re ten years old and are even slightly disturbed by the idea of a six hundred year-old warrior getting eaten alive by evil, crazed, cannibalistic mermaids, then do NOT read this book. Nevertheless, this is a totally awesome book and if do not fit the description previously listed, go right ahead. I now leave you in a true sentence I just made up:  “If books are frowned upon in my house, then I have four eyes, eight legs, and a tail.”

 

Posted by: Fred Reads

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Review: The Enchantress

  1. Hey Fred, thanks for the review. You are clearly very excited about this book! I am glad to see that you that you are, as usual, putting a lot of your excitement and personality into your book reviews. Some things I would like you to consider are:

    *clarity: Your third paragraph begins with a thought about the book and the characters, continues to a giveaway about the book (Billy the Kid), transitions into you talking about yourself and your excitement for the book, and ends with more givaways about the book. There is alot going on there, double parenthesis and lots of transitions in thought. Arrange your ideas into seperate paragraphs if you need to.

    *Try your best not to write any giveaways, its way less fun for your readers. Move away from the plot. Instead, focus on the book’s style. Was it too wordy or too long? Action packed and full of plot twists? Too busy? Too slow? Confusing? Simplistic? Elequently written?

    *Try not to apologize for your thoughts on the book or your writing. Reviewers are ruthless and never apologize.

    Again, there is GREAT energy in your writing. You are fun to read and use some great writing tactics, such as your quote at the end about being an avid reader. Keep that up! Happy reading & reviewing!

Leave a Reply

