Review: The Spiderwick Chronicles Book 5 – The Wrath of Mulgarath

Title:  The Wrath of Mulgarath

Authors:  Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black

Publisher:  Simon & Schuster

 

 

It was with hesitation that I began the last book in the Spiderwick series. I have come to care for the Grace children as if they were my own friends, as reluctant as I was to begin this fantasy series about a year ago. I had no doubts that the Grace children would somehow end up victorious in their struggle against the goblin army and the powerful Mulgarath as to be expected from this genre of tale. I was, however, sad to see their story come to a close.

The last book of the series did not disappoint. With each chapter, Jared, Mallory, and Simon faced greater challenges than the last. They showed amazing courage, met a horde of new and interesting creatures, and even faced the most trying of their journey’s challenges, the disappointment of their father’s absence from their lives. Jared, Simon, and Mallory were everything that I long to see in heroes. Even Thimbletack, the house brownie, got in on the action.

The Wrath of the Mulgarath was a thrilling adventure, which I read all in one sitting, as I couldn’t put it down. I loved this series so much, in fact, that I will be teaching fantasy to my elementary school class beginning this week, and using The Spiderwick Chronicles as the example text. This fantastic end to the first Spiderwick Chronicles Series is recommended to fantasy lovers, and newcomers, aged 8+.

 

Posted by: Janine Reads

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Review: The Spiderwick Chronicles Book 5 – The Wrath of Mulgarath

  1. Fred Reads

    thanks, by the way, good review.

Leave a Reply

