Review: Inkheart

Thanks to my father’s youngest sister – my aunt – for getting this book for me after a children’s play when I was six years old, even though I was too young to read it. -Fred Reads

 

Title:  InkheartimagesCAH71OJ5 

Author:  Cornelia Funke 

Publisher:  Scholastic 

Series:  The Inkheart Trilogy 

Genre:  Children’s Fantasy/Teen’s Fantasy

 

Yes, my aunt did indeed buy me this book after a children’s play when I was six years old. In fact, I distinctly remember asking her for it, how it was on an attractive spinning book-case along with its sidekick, Inkheart, the second book in the trilogy. I don’t know what she was thinking, but she bought me the book. It had been sitting on my shelf ever since. Five years and three months later, I saw a thick, yet attractive paperback book sitting in one of my shelves.  Now, I had finished a book earlier and wanted to start another one, so I picked it up, saw the cover and suddenly a formidable, mind-blowing monsoon of memories started pouring down on the rainforest of my mind. It was the first time since I started the Harry Potter series in 5-K that I felt I was destined to read a fantasy book.

So here I am now, finished with the book, writing a review of it. Over all, this is an incredibly unique style of writing. It’s not a “happily ever after” book, but it’s not a “and so they all died” book either. This is a slightly dark fantasy book. I mean dark in a sort of thrilling way – not a mutant zombie apocalypse kind of way. It’s more like “Oh no! Will Capricorn succeed in forcing Meggie to raise The Shadow? Will the evil Basta put an end to mysterious Dustfinger? Will Fred Reads finally stop being dramatic?!” The magic in this book is very subtle. It’s a solid, sturdy plot, yet with whimsy and awe. Many teens today will read fantasy. It’s just a matter of balancing the plot so it’s not all boring, but it’s not filled with fluffy purple pandas and magical roads to candy land. This is a perfect, perfect balance in a story. This is a spot on, hit the nail on the head, home run, supah ninja awesome plot. There are un-stereotypical villains, un-average heroes, intelligent heroines (a detail in books that is struggling to keep its head above water), boisterous jokesters, mysterious double agents, wise creators, parasitic destroyers, and even horned martins (which are neither rodents nor marsupials) named Gwin. Even the dialogue and way the way the characters say it just makes you want to keep flipping the pages. The only thing that caused an interference with the awesomeness of this book was the ending. I mean, it was acceptable, but for a book as great as this, it’s got to be really, really good. Luckily the sneak peek at the end of the book saved that.

Overall I thought – no, I know – this is one of the best fantasy books I’ve ever read. This one book has surpassed pretty much everything except the combined power of the epic Harry Potter series. It will definitely be a book that I read again (that’s just how I roll) in the future. I would recommend this book to an audience of ages 12 and up.

 

Posted by: Fred Reads

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Review: Inkheart

  1. littlebookblog

    had completely forgotten about this book! Completely agree with your review! I loved it thought it was a brilliant fantasy book!

Leave a Reply

